Warsaw Declaration

The Warsaw Declaration is the founding document of the Community of Democracies.

It was signed on June 27, 2000 in Warsaw, Poland, by representatives of 106 democratic states attending the opening Ministerial Conference of the Community of Democracies.

It describes the freedoms, rights and liberties that are essential for a country to flourish as a democracy, recognises the universality of democratic values and agrees to respect and uphold these principles. It defines the essential practices and norms for the effective establishment and consolidation of democracy and emphasises the interdependence between peace, development, human rights and democracy. 

Download the full text of the Warsaw Declaration